Welcome!

Welcome to The Simple Pursuits.

Hi! I’m Alaina. I’m 26, I’m in grad school working on a PhD (I know, it’s a lot), I’m queer and non-binary, and I’m a Christian. That last one is probably the identity that has started to mean the most to me lately, and I’ve been trying to figure out how I can make that clear to the world. And so, this blog is born.

I feel like I’ve spent most of my “new adult” years trying to get get get everything I can, just in order to feel content. I got new cabinets from Ikea when I got my first apartment, but then decided I needed to also get baskets for those cabinets if I wanted them to actually be helpful. I’ve gone through 4 or 5 planners in the span of a couple of years. I am addicted to shopping for clothes and planners and stationery online. Because society has taught me that if I just get enough stuff, all this…yuckiness in my heart will go away. If I have more stuff, I won’t feel so empty or alone or confused. But I still felt the same way

In one of my online searches for something¬†to automatically save me, I bought something that actually did me some good and helped me to slow down. Lara Casey is a writer and mom that I really respect, and last year, searching for something that would help me make 2017 better than 2016, I found her PowerSheets. PowerSheets are an intentional goal-setting system that for me, is centered on figuring out what figuring out what things you want to do in life that will make you content when you’re 80. And as I dug into the PowerSheets, I realized that what would make me happy wasn’t having a bunch of stuff. It was cultivating a strong community of friends, family, and chosen family; it was giving my time and myself; it was about deepening my faith and building lasting memories.

Through lots of work, lots help from Lara’s online presence, and lots of intentional quiet time, I learned something important. I already have everything I need. It’s Christ. He’s not only filled me, but he’s also filled my life with friends who love me and support me, with a family that only wants the best for me, with sweet sweet cats who remind me everyday of the wonders of unconditional love. Colossians 2:10 (CEB) says, “And you have been filled by him [Christ], who is the head of every ruler and authority.”

CWM_Desktop_Download-06
From cultivatewhatmatters.com

And I want to walk this journey with y’all. I want to help other twenty-somethings–who maybe feel hurt by the church and religion–to realize that we can stop searching outward for affirmation and for contentment. Come along for the ride while I figure out how to balance this simpler (and hopefully holier) life I’m trying to cultivate while also dealing with life! Finances, school, friends, relationships (ahhh!!!!), fashion, politics, triumphs, and trials. Sometimes I’ll share resources, sometimes I might reflect on a Bible study I’m doing, sometimes I might just reach out for help. It will all be here.

We can’t figure out life on our own, but with Christ on our side, and with this new community I’m hoping to build encouraging one another, we can learn and grow together. Won’t you join me?

Leave a Reply

