#PowerSheets for July 2017

IMG_9038

It’s July! 🌻☀️🌊

I feel like May and June are the two months it takes for me to chill out after a long, hard semester. In July, I’m finally ready to do something! Most of my big summer plans take place in July. However, something I’m also trying to work into this month is chilling out.

I’m such a planner y’all. I’m a very typical first born child (and my astrology friends tell me I’m also a typical Virgo rising, as well). I’m what the kids call Type A. I need everything to be planned out and perfect, even my fun. And sometimes, that’s great. Setting a modified scheduled for myself in the summer is helpful for my depression. It makes sure I get out of bed in the mornings and walk at least 5,000 steps (thanks FitBit!). But sometimes, I overschedule what’s supposed to be a season of rest for me.

So this summer, I downloaded Jess Connolly’s Summer to Thrive: A Guide to Chilling Out and Enjoying SummerIt’s hilarious and great and reminded me that over planning doesn’t lead to a better summer, if anything, it leads to a lot of FOMO, and me feeling like I never did enough.

On that vein, this month’s goals reflect my overall summer goal of being chill and having fun. If I don’t leave my house some days, it’s fine! If I decide to cancel that museum visit for a day spent by the pool, did I really lose out on anything? The museum will always be there, but these lazy hazy days of sunshine and 105 degree weather won’t always be here. Is it more important that I fill my summer up with stuff, or that I have a really great tan from my Chacos? Simplicity, remember? That’s the goal.

Here are July’s goals. I’ll check in at the end of the month and update you on how they went, and I’ll share August’s goals with you. Feel free to talk about your own goals for July, in the comments whether or not you’re using the PowerSheets system. How are you starting off this second half of the year? Hopefully with purpose and intention, but also a lot of chill! 😎

Monthly

  • Read Cultivate by Lara Casey
  • Read two books prep for my thesis
  • Move to a new apartment!
  • Plan an August camping trip
  • Read three books for pleasure
  • STAYCATION!!

Weekly

  • Read two theses
  • Read two published articles
  • Dance class
  • Visit a museum about Texas
  • Go to church and Bible Study
  • Do an activity outside of the home

Daily

Throw off any extra baggage, get rid of the sin that trips us up, and fix our eyes on Jesus.

Hebrews 12:1-2 (CEB)

One Reply to “#PowerSheets for July 2017”

Leave a Reply

