#MondayMotivation Link Roundup!

Happy Monday friends!

Mondays are not my strong suit. I’ve always felt like I have to get moving right away, but in that push to be successful, I often get so stressed out that I don’t do anything. I’ve started to make Mondays a slow-work day for me during the summer, and it’s been working really well so far. I set out to get 3 work/school related things done, but other than that, my only goal for the day is tidying my house. I almost always can do that, and it starts my week off feeling successful, instead of like I’m already running a race I’ll never win.

To motivate you on your monday, here are some of my favorite things I’ve read recently. I hope they inspire you!

Morality and Message: The Church of England, Young People, and LGBT Issues by Jem Bloomfield

For Christians like me, who are deeply attached to the Scriptures and the traditions of the Church, and who find their spiritual life in the liturgy and sacraments, this is a troubling distortion.  Our commitment to inclusivity is not a compromise we have made between our faith and the situation we find ourselves in, it is a central part of what that faith can reveal to modern society.

Ten Rules of Writing by Amitava Kuvar

Do not write long sentences.
A sentence should not have more than 10 or 12 words.

Each sentence should make a clear statement.
It should add to the statement that went before. A good paragraph is a series of clear, linked statements.

Do not use big words.
If your computer tells you that your average word is more than five letters long, there is something wrong. The use of small words compels you to think about what you are writing. Even difficult ideas can be broken down into small words.

Never use words whose meanings you are not sure of.
If you break this rule you should look for other work.

The beginner should avoid using adjectives, except those of colour, size and number.
Use as few adverbs as possible.

Avoid the abstract.
Always go for the concrete.

Every day, for six months at least, practice writing in this way.
Small words; clear, concrete sentences. It may be awkward, but it’s training you in the use of language. It may even be getting rid of the bad language habits you picked up at the university. You may go beyond these rules after you have thoroughly understood and mastered them.

Gardening in White Pants  by Lara Casey

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1 (NIV)

Not reaching your wellness goals? Take a look at your nighttime routine by Jae Burman

We all think our day starts when we wake up. But what if the day really starts the evening before?

Why does it matter? When you create an ideal nighttime routine, it is far more likely that your first step in the morning will lead to a successful day.

Persevering in Prayer by Kristin Stockfisch

College turned me into a prayer-person. Desperation does this. A pattern of physical brokenness seeped into my soul and exposed all the fractured, taped-up hurts of a life leaned on the shoulders of my own self-sufficiency. My prayer life morphed from a before-meals, before-bed check-in to a daily open-heart surgery. God received my honest thoughts and raw feelings for the first time and He and I were never the same. Prayer made sense of this relationship with God everyone seemed to talk about. He became a person. Father. Son. Spirit. A person unlike anyone I had ever known.

Okay friends! Make the most of the week ahead, but most importantly, take time to chill out and breathe for a bit. We don’t have to be on all day, we were born to rest, at least a little bit, so I encourage you to simplify your schedule a little bit this week and take some time to sit quietly and breathe. The world won’t fall apart in those few seconds, I promise.

Happy Monday!

P.S. Here’s a live video of kittens you can watch if you’re feeling a little stressed out. ❤️

Leave a Reply

