July Recap + August PowerSheets

July was so fruitful!! God is really teaching me to endure (it’s my word of the year!) and I am so grateful for this lesson. I feel like I accomplished more than ever, but also it was such a relaxing month! I started taking walks every night (the only time in Austin, TX when you can leave the house and not melt) and most nights I didn’t bring my phone with me. It was perfect. I got to see the sunset almost every night, meet my neighbors, and listen to the sounds of the suburbs. It felt so good.

July Goals

IMG_9247

Monthly

  • Read Cultivate by Lara Casey: DONE!! And it was such a blessing. If you can afford it, definitely go and read it!
  • Read two books prep for my thesis: Done!
  • Move to a new apartment!: I’ve done everything except actually move. I signed a lease, paid the downpayment, and packed up my apartment! I’m ready!
  • Plan an August camping trip: This one I made no progress on, and that’s okay. I think it just meant that it’s not something that’s super important to me right now. That’s what I love about the PowerSheets–you can really get a visual of what does and doesn’t matter!
  • Read three books for pleasure: Done! I read 3 old Dykes to Watch Out For that I checked out from the school’s library. Alison Bechdel is a gem, and hilarious.
  • STAYCATION!: I planned it, and visited some really sweet spots in Austin. I’m glad I did that for myself

Weekly

  • Read two theses: I did this most weeks, and found it so helpful. I have a much better idea of what a thesis is supposed to look like in my discipline, and I feel a lot calmer about taking on this huge project (75-100 pages!!)
  • Read two published articles: Mostly done! Some weeks, I ended up reading more in a book, so I don’t feel guilty. Little by little, right!
  • Dance classes and visiting a museum about Texas: So about halfway through the month, I ended up taking these both off of my tending list. I felt guilty for not doing them because I felt they were something I should do, but didn’t really want to do. So I gave myself some grace, and took them off the list, and I spent the rest of the month feeling less guilty and getting stuff done that filled me with life and joy.
  • Go to church and Bible Study: I did this most weeks, and I loved it. I love my church community, but it’s a long commute to get there, so sometimes I don’t go, but every week I did go, I felt so refreshed.
  • Do an activity outside of the home: 100%! And I loved each and every outing.

Daily

  • Work for one hour editing Queer Girl City GuidesI did this most days, but some days I just didn’t have any more work to do, and that was okay!
  • 6 am – 8:30 pm: Sort of??? I stuck to it often, but I think a 7-9:30 schedule might be more doable for me.
  • Bible/prayer: Done and done! 🙌🏾
  • AM/PM routine: I did well. I have a solid routine now and I keep it on my mirror. It’s super helpful starting and ending the day off right. 
  • #contentmentchallengeI did it! I didn’t buy a single thing all month! 31 days down, 59 to go!

August Goals

IMG_9248

This month is all about prepping. School starts at the end of the month, and I want my mind, body, spirit, and new home ready for this new season. 18th grade, here I come! 

Monthly

  • Move in/move out: The movers arrive on Thursday morning, I’m transporting the cats that evening, cleaning out the old apartment Friday and Saturday, and then spending the rest of the month settling in.
  • Transfer utilities: It’s so easy to forget this, and then you’re in a new place with no electricity or water! Since I live alone, I want to get this done early, to make sure I’m not in the dark or taking cold showers.
  • Make doctor’s appointments: The scariest part of being an adult is remembering to make doctor’s appointments! I’m blessed to have health insurance, and I need to get this done, so whether or not I go this month, I want to make sure I make appointments to meet with an eye doctor, a dentist, and my primary care physician.
  • Read 3 books for my thesis: Still trucking. The research never ends!!
  • Finish Cultivate: I made August’s tending list and then finished Cultivate! So, on day one, I’ve already accomplished one goal!
  • Read 2 books for pleasure: This was great for me last month, and I want to keep it up!
  • Make a bill calendar: Part of what’s a struggle for me with budgeting is that I forget what I have on autopay and am often surprised (and honestly, unprepared) when bills get taken out of my account. I hope this will help that.
  • Friendship spreadsheet: I’m adapting this from the Fruitful Friendships Workbook. I want to love my friends well, so I want a place where I have all of their birthdays, favorite colors, favorite treats, love languages, etc.
  • School shopping: It’s the most wonderful time of the year!
  • Celebrate mom’s birthday from afar: I won’t be home for my mom’s birthday, so I want to make sure I celebrate her!

Weekly

  • Read 2 theses/articles: Keeping these two going to prep for the thesis.
  • Church & Bible study: building Christian community and digging into God’s word.
  • 2 blog updates: I want this blog to grow, so I’m aiming to update it twice a week.
  • Monday check-in: A new thing my job is doing. Since we’re all freelancing and a completely virtual office, this is a way for us to keep up with one another. It’s been helpful so far!
  • Sunday Sabbath: I want to prioritize rest in my life. Being in grad school can turn you into a workaholic very quickly, but Psalm 127:2 reminds us to rest: “It is pointless that you get up early and stay up late, eating the bread of hard labor because God gives sleep to those he loves.” I want to live this truth.

Daily

  • Brush teeth twice a day: Listen, I’m gonna get real: I forget to brush my teeth at night almost twice a week, and since I’m going to the dentist this month, I wanna get back on track!
  • 5k steps daily: Just enough walking to make sure I’m getting out of the house each day and not spending my whole work day in front of a computer or book.
  • Bible/prayer: Starting the day with the Lord is a priority I’m gonna keep.
  • Gratitude journaling: Something I loved in Cultivate was the conversation about “getting after grateful”, so I’m gonna get back into gratitude journaling. I’ll start and end each day with 5 things that I’m grateful for, and keep them in a big jar, so I can pull one out any time I feeling low.

What are your priorities for next month? I wish you success!!

2 Replies to “July Recap + August PowerSheets”

Leave a Reply

